Thursday, July 26, 2018

SEO vs. PPC | Which One Is Better For You & Your Business?

When it comes to digital marketing, especially if you’re just starting out, there’s always the question about SEO vs. PPC. What are the advantages and disadvantages of both? And, more importantly, which one is better for you?

 

The general consensus is that PPC costs money and it brings immediate results, while SEO is free, but takes time. So it’s a simple trade, time for money. Well, the truth is that it’s more to that than you might expect. I’ll clarify everything below.

 

SEO_vs_PPC._Which_one_should_you_choose

 

  1. SEO Advantages & Disadvantages
    1. SEO Pros
    2. SEO Cons
    3. When Should You Choose SEO?
  2. PPC Advantages & Disadvantages
    1. PPC Pros
    2. PPC Cons
    3. When Should You Choose PPC?
  3. SEO vs. PPC Recap (side by side comparison)
  4. Mixing SEO with PPC

 

Since we’re cognitiveSEO and we have SEO oriented tools, you might think we’ll try to push SEO as being better than PPC. However, this article won’t show advantages and disadvantages so that you may choose one over another, but to help you better understand which are the strong and weak points of each promotion method.

 

In the end, you’re better off using a mix of both. I’ll tell you exactly why, so keep reading.

 

SEO Advantages & Disadvantages

 

Search Engine Optimization is growing more and more popular, especially with startups. Everyone wants to have an optimized website that ranks well because, in their minds, it’s free. However, if you’ve been in business for a while, you very well know that time = money. This isn’t just a phrase. It’s true.

 

Although SEO might be considered a cheaper way of promoting your website and products, that can actually be far from the case, depending on the niche you’re in and the toughness of your competition. SEO involves content, which is not cheap to create (at least not at a high level).

 

For example, creating a high quality article on cognitiveSEO can take up to one week (if not more if you count in proofreading and editing). Remember, time = money. But, while ads are an easier way of promotion, we earn a lot more trust by ranking and generating traffic organically, since we’re an SEO oriented company.

 

Let’s discuss the pros and cons of SEO, to better understand what you’re dealing with when you get started.

 

SEO Pros

 

SEO covers the biggest part of search marketing. SEO work is like planting the seeds of a forest. You plant them now but you see the results very far into the future. Although you can speed up the process, that requires a lot more work than just installing WordPress and writing quality content.

 

It’s free if you do it yourself: As long as you’re prepared to continuously improve your knowledge and spend a lot of time writing your own content, then you can rank high without any investment (except for hosting and a theme).

 

Gradual learning curve: This can also be seen as a disadvantage, in the way that it can take a long time to learn it. However, what I’m trying to point out here is that you don’t have to master it fast to see results. You can start by doing some simple keyword research and writing your content. Mix that with image optimization and a good server and you’re set. Most Content Management Systems today have a lot of SEO plugins, be it for content or technical issues.

 

Good ROI: If you take the free path and do everything yourself, SEO has the potential to bring very good results, especially in the local business field, where competition can be less harsh. Even when paying for your services, considering you get to rank on a high search volume keyword, you can get up to 15x the amount of clicks you would get if using paid search. Top organic results can bring over 25% of the organic searches for a keyword. On the other side, paid ads only get about 2-3%. Here’s a screenshot from Sparktoro where Rand Fishkin analyzes the Organic vs. Paid CTR in US.

 

 

This discrepancy could be caused by many factors, such as people’s preference for organic results over paid ads (they view them as more trustworthy) and frequent use of ad blocking softwares.

 

Long term results: If you do your homework and you’re consistent for about 6 months to one year, the results you get can last for years. It’s a good idea to update and improve content from time to time though, especially if something better shows up in the SERPS. However, if you keep sharing your content and get a backlink here and there, chances are you’ll keep your ranks, if not improve them over time.

 

Good for brand awareness: People often search for information on the web. Even when they want to purchase something, they first look for reviews and guides. If you want to take advantage of that, you need to write informational content that meets their expectations, in order to rank. Over time, this can lead to people remembering your brand. On average, first time clients often need to be brought on your website up to 7 times (if not more) before they trust you enough to make a purchase.

 

More control over content: When doing SEO, you can rank for virtually anything. You don’t have restrictions on what content you have to display. Also, titles and descriptions can be longer, which leads to better CTRs. You can do virtually anything. However, send clients to a bad page using ads and you’ll be kicked out in no time.

 

SEO Cons

 

It takes time to see results: For some, 6 months to 1 year might sound really good, but for others it might sound like an eternity. You need results and you need them fast. Now. If that’s the case, then your focus should be on paid search. However, it’s a good idea to put the basis of SEO as soon as you start. Remember, it takes time to see results, so the sooner you start, the faster you’ll see them. If you postpone SEO, when you do decide to start, you’ll just hear the same 6 months story again.

 

Hard to master: If you really want to call yourself an SEO expert, you’ll need to learn a lot more than just basic keyword research and link building. HTML and CSS skills might be required, at least at a basic level and JS and PHP come in handy as well. Those don’t include all the other technical things you need to master like sitemaps, indexing, URLs, redirects, multiple language issues and many others. With links getting harder and harder to obtain without a lot of $$$, your content creation and persuasion skills also need to improve significantly. There’s just so much more you have to master with SEO that it can actually be overwhelming. There are even categories, such as Technical SEO and Content SEO. Mastering these both can be very challenging. If you think of PPC like playing an instrument, then SEO is sort of like conducting an entire orchestra.

 

SEO is hard to master

 

Hard to scale: If you’re a one man gang, getting things to the next level isn’t very easy. It’s true that you don’t necessarily have to post more to get more traffic, but it’s also true that if you do post more, you do get more traffic. You can only do so many things in 24h. Scaling that requires help, which involves money. If you’re building an authority website and need hundreds of articles per week, editors and a content marketing team then the results will pay off. However, if you’re trying to compete with Dyson to sell your unknown vacuum cleaner, you’re better off with paid search.

 

High uncertainty: Google works with algorithms. This means that at any time, for any reason, your site might drop from its rankings, or worse, even be removed from the index. Usually this happens if you get involved with BlackHat SEO techniques. If you stick to Google’s Guidelines, you should generally be fine. Still, there are so many reasons for which your website’s organic traffic could drop that it would take another article to list them. We actually have one, mostly limited to 2018 SEO updates.

 

Less buyer oriented: People search a lot on the web, but most of the time they search for information. Even when they search for things to buy. That’s why it’s a good idea to also build an e-mail list, to be able to bring clients back on your website. Harder to do now, especially in Europe, with the new EU GDPR law.

 

Hard to A/B test: Although you have full control over your content, A/B testing in an organic searches environment isn’t easy. Google isn’t very fond of duplicate content and you can’t simply ask Google to show another page for one week either. Well, you actually can using canonical tags. However, the canonical tag wasn’t designed for that and it’s very risky to use it that way. You might think that you could simply change the same page and then switch it back. However, any change to a page can result either in an increase or a decrease in rankings. Generally, when people rank high they avoid making any changes to their pages.

 

SEO
Advantages Disadvantages
It can be ‘free’ It takes time to see results
Gradual learning curve Hard to master
Good ROI Hard to scale
Long term results High uncertainty
Good for brand awareness Less buyer oriented
More control over content Hard to A/B test
 

When Should You Choose SEO?

 

Unless you purposely don’t want to be on search engines, SEO is, simply put, for everyone. You should start it as soon as possible, because it takes time for it to work. To be more precise, the SEO planning process should start before even building the website, if you take structure and platform into account.

 

The later you start with SEO, the later you will see the results. It’s a good idea to start optimizing as soon as possible.

 

PPC Advantages & Disadvantages

 

On the other side, we have PPC (Pay Per Click) or SEM (Search Engine Marketing). Some SEOs blame it for being less efficient and costing way more than SEO. However, those claims can be false due to bias. The truth is PPC can be a great method of promoting your website, especially if you’re an eCommerce store or selling a product.

 

PPC Pros

 

Generally, people think of PPC as regular advertising, but it’s much more than that. Having the opportunity to show an ad only when someone searches for a specific keyword and, even more, pay for it only when they click, is priceless. There are a ton of good things about PPC. Hadn’t it been so successful, people wouldn’t pay for it.

 

You can see results instantly: The greatest thing about Pay Per Click is that you can see results right away. That is, of course, as long as your landing page is decent. You need a call to action, so make sure your phone number and contact forms are visible. You will usually pay more depending on the competition. However, there are other factors that are taken into consideration, such as the quality of your titles and content. Either way, ranking in the top 3 with SEO in a day is virtually impossible to achieve.

 

 

Easier to master: I’m not saying that you can become an expert overnight but, on the long run, PPC is easier than SEO. Don’t get me wrong. It’s not easy. You still have to learn a lot of things and you also learn those things by burning money usually. However, once you’ve set up a proper campaign and optimized if for a couple of months, you’re kind of set. You also get professional support from official Google employees that help you set campaigns, a luxury that you don’t have in the SEO field. Luckily, there’s guys like us, here at cognitiveSEO. Obviously, there are also advanced tweaks that you can do to your campaigns, things you won’t learn very easily. But there’s a higher chance of finding someone that will create you a decent Pay Per Click campaign than finding someone who will build and execute a good SEO strategy.

 

You can scale up quickly: Scaling up in Google Adwords is pretty easy. Just pay more money. There are two ways of paying more money. The first is to target more keywords. The second is simply adjusting your daily budget to over 9.000 and become overpower. Then, your competition will be very frustrated:

 

PPC is easier to scale

 

No uncertainty: You don’t have to fear any updates from Google. In the PPC world, the updates are upfront and not secret. You also spend between 5-10 minutes to set up an ad and another 5-10 to find out if it has been approved or not. You’ll also know exactly what’s allowed and what isn’t. Remember, you also get support from Google itself.

 

Buyer oriented: Most of the clicks you will get from PPC are buyer oriented. It’s not necessarily that people click Google ads more when they want to buy something (although it’s possible), but because you’ll only be targeting commercial keywords when you place your ads. We all know that search traffic has higher conversion rates. Same goes for paid search advertising. It has higher conversions than social media and Facebook advertising. Google only shows ads if it thinks it’s relevant to the potential customers. So, the user intent dictates whether an ad should show or not. If the keyword is a buyer keyword, there’s a higher chance of an ad displaying.

 

Easy to A/B test: A/B testing with PPC is really easy. All you have to do is set up two ads and let them run. Whichever gets the most CTR wins. It’s simple. You have to keep doing this to improve your results. A 1% increase in CTR can be a game changer in some situations.

 

PPC Cons

 

Like with anything, there must also be downsides. PPC has a few, but depending on who you are and what you do, some might not even seem to be disadvantages. If you have a high profit margin, for example, you can afford to pay ads. However, if you only make 1$ per sale but you have to pay $0.98 to get it, it might not be such a great deal, especially after taxes.

 

You pay for every click: Well… there’s not much to say here. It’s pay to play. For every click that you get you have to pay. So, as long as you profit from it, the more you spend the more your earn. The math is pretty simple. You need to think in Click Through Rates. Let’s say that you earn $10 per sale. In this case, depending on your demands, you could be spending anything from $0.01 to $9.99 for a sale. However, the money will only bring you traffic. It doesn’t guarantee sales. You need high conversion rates. If you bring in 100 people and your conversion rate is 1%, then you have to make sure those 100 visitors cost less than what you earn for one sale. Otherwise you will be throwing money out the window.

 

It’s not that it’s bad to pay for every click. It’s just that with SEO you don’t have to 🙂

 

Steep learning curve: When you first go into the Google Adwords platform, things might be overwhelming. There are a lot of new things to digest: campaigns, ad groups, keywords, negative keywords, budgets, bids, CTR, CPC and many other. If you have no idea what you’re doing, you can burn a lot of money. A recent client of mine set up the campaign on his own and wasted around 75% of his budget because he didn’t set any negative keywords.

 

You need money for PPC

 

However, after having a basic understanding of them, you can easily set up campaigns that run for a profit. There are also official courses from Google which you can attend and even get certified into.

 

Lower ROI: We’ve talked about how, with SEO, results are a little bit slow but last longer? Well, it’s the exact opposite with PPC. The ROI on PPC is calculated short term, by subtracting how much you spend on the paid search advertisements from how much you earn by selling a product. When you stop paying, you stop displaying so the ROI won’t grow the same way it does with SEO, long term.

 

Growth is tied to budget: Although it’s easy to scale, PPC is tied to budget. That means if you want to sell more, you also have to pay more. This doesn’t sound so bad, but considering that growth often involves other expenses such as better servers, personnel or even warehouses, you’ll always be short on money.

 

Not great for brand awareness: When you pay for clicks, you usually want to sell. Fast. Once the user purchases once, it’s anyway easier to retarget them. Even if they ultimately buy from you, chances are they came from someone else’s informational website, either through Adsense or some sort of affiliate link (websites they trust).

 

Less control over content: If you want your ad to display, you’ll have to respect some rules. Not only with the titles and descriptions, but also with the content. There are certain niches in which you can’t even display ads at all and some words are banned.

 

PPC
Advantages Disadvantages
Very fast results You pay for every click
Easier to master Steep learning curve
Easy to scale Lower ROI, more short term
No uncertainty Growth is tied to budget
Buyer oriented Not great for brand awareness
Easy to A/B test Less control over content
 

When Should You Choose PPC?

 

Well, you can definitely use PPC all the time. The best time to use it, if you have a little bit of budget, is when you’re starting out. The boost can help you keep the business going while you also growing your organic traffic.

 

However, even when you’re already established, you can’t rank for all the keywords. For those on which you don’t rank, you can pay. You can also use it on keywords you already rank for to increase your CTR. If you have position 1, why not have position 1 and 2?

 

Greatest thing about this is that you can actually rank for other brands, like your competitors, for example. Here’s some competitors of ours doing this with our keyword tool:

 

outranking competitors using ppc for brand keywords

 

Best time to use PPC is when you’re starting out, but you can always use it for keywords you don’t rank for or to maximize CTR.

 

SEO vs. PPC Recap (side by side comparison)

 

Green = Advantages
Red = Disadvantages
SEO PPC
Can be ‘free’ Very fast results
Gradual learning curve Easier to master
Good ROI Easy to scale
Long term results No uncertainty
Good for brand awareness Buyer oriented
More control over content Easy to A/B test
It takes time to see results You pay for every click
Hard to master Steep learning curve
Hard to scale Lower ROI
High uncertainty Growth is tied to budget
Less buyer oriented Not great for brand awareness
Hard to A/B test Less control over content
 

Mixing PPC with SEO

 

Most of the time, people start with PPC because it brings immediate results. They miss out on SEO because they don’t start doing it as soon as possible. If you postpone it, it will only take longer to rank. You can start with it by doing the basic things. For example, having a blog is one of them. Implementing a content marketing strategy for your site is a great way of growing your brand and authority.

 

People often neglect SEO. I have one client that spends over $2.000 on PPC, whereas the budget for SEO is only about $100. It actually was 0 before I convinced them to start with something basic. Had they spent 25% of his PPC budget on SEO these past 10 years, they would have had a huge authority website with hundreds if not thousands of useful articles. However, they only have service pages and a badly implemented multi language module which I can’t seem to fix without a programmer.

 

On the other side, small businesses and SEO enthusiasts might also miss out a lot themselves by never taking advantage of PPC. There could be a huge opportunity in selling your products through PPC.

 

On the long run, it’s true that SEO is much more powerful than PPC. You can rank high with one article for hundreds if not thousands of keywords and the CTRs tend to be a lot higher. But on the short term, PPC is a really good way of gaining some initial traffic and sales and the best way of keeping your positions consistent. The longer a campaign runs, the better CTRs and CPC it scores, as it gets to be really well optimized.

 

Conclusion:

 

As you see, both SEO and PPC are good methods to market your products. Now, if you’re starting out with SEO, there’s plenty of content on our blog from which you can learn it. However, we’re lacking a bit on the PPC and SEM side. Maybe we’ll publish more soon. But the idea is that if you mix them, you’ll get the best results.

 

What’s your experience? Have you tried both PPC and SEO? Which one brought the best results? Let us know in the comments section.

The post SEO vs. PPC | Which One Is Better For You & Your Business? appeared first on SEO Blog | cognitiveSEO Blog on SEO Tactics & Strategies.


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Wednesday, July 25, 2018

Tuesday, July 24, 2018

Why SEO Is Important to Any Business Nowadays. Top 21 SEO Benefits

In the office, in the online world, on social media, on the phone, in the chat, everywhere people talk about SEO. Everybody who has a business has heard about SEO. But also anyone who has a business probably said at least once: Do I really need SEO? What can SEO do for me? 

 

Since the moment SEO appeared in our lives, everybody in the field started talking about it. It became a never-ending discussion. We want to know all the facets of SEO. Why is SEO important? And this is what you’re about to find out: Top SEO benefits you should never underestimate search engine optimization. 

 

Why_SEO_Is_So_Important_-_Top_21_benefits

 

Curiosity flourished and we wanted to put it simply into words and see the key benefits of SEO in the life of a business. We found 21 reasons why SEO is crucial to any business living on the internet. 

 

  1. SEO Blends into Your Marketing Funnel
  2. SEO Helps You Get into the Spotlight
  3. SEO Creates a Stronger Relationship with the Audience
  4. SEO Pulls out Traffic
  5. SEO Is Cost Effective Comparing to PPC
  6. SEO Is Live 24/7
  7. SEO Increases Sales and Leads
  8. SEO Improves Your ROI
  9. SEO Has the Greatest Impact on Lead Generation
  10. SEO Traffic Is More Convertible
  11. SEO Increases Brand Awareness
  12. SEO Increases Marketing Attribution
  13. SEO Is One of the Best PR Strategy
  14. SEO Improves CTR
  15. SEO Can Eliminate Cold-Calling
  16. SEO Builds Trust and Credibility
  17. SEO Is a Long-Term Strategy
  18. More Effective Than Other Traditional Strategies
  19. SEO Can Help You Attract Great Individuals
  20. SEO Isn’t the Final Step, but the Center of Things
  21. SEO Can Boost Your Efficiency

 

Some us even keep talking while sleeping or keep thinking about SEO while staying in traffic or cooking and so on (*half-joking*). But leaving the joke aside, SEO doesn’t sleep. It’s alive. If done right, it keeps your website alive, too, right there on the first page of Google, getting the attention of someone that might buy something from your site or recommend it to others.

 

If we’re looking at the evolution of the interest people put into SEO, we can see how beautifully it has grown over the years and it is constantly changing. 

 

Evolution of SEO

 

SEO is like the popular kid in school. Everybody talks about it. There are some groups that worship it and follow everything what it is doing, but there are also some groups that hate it, don’t like it and speak badly about it.

 

 

1. SEO Blends into Your Marketing Funnel

 

Your marketing funnel starts when the prospect hears about your brand in the awareness stage. It will continue when your brand generates interest, desire and will make them take an action afterward.

 

Marketing funnel and SEO

Source: www.aweber.com

 

SEO blends in all the stages of your marketing funnel. The most important step is the first one, when you hook the user. But he must find your website. You need search engine optimization to get there, on the first page.

 

The inbound marketing sales funnel has three stages: top of funnel (TOFU), middle of funnel (MOFU) and bottom of funnel (BOFU). Each stage requires a proper set of marketing tactics and techniques, which includes SEO. So, when I was saying that SEO starts right at the top of the funnel, that happens because there is your audience, and you want to attract a larger portion of it.

 

Track top of funnel keywords (informational keywords), create content maps and make your site’s structure user-friendly to keep the user as long as you can on your website and you’ll push them down the funnel. In the TOFU stage, the user will land on your blog, which is the most common type of content.

 

For the middle of funnel, your focus should be on creating high-quality content and have hooks on your website that will keep the user, such as a high loading speed, high quality and lossless images, mobile-friendly website, un-broken pages and lots of other technical SEO requirements. Technical SEO has a great impact on the user’s behavior.

 

Engaging the users and sending them down the sales funnel can be achieved through CTAs, surveys, content downloads.

 

At the bottom of funnel you must persuade the user with other techniques. But up to this point, SEO blends very well in each stage of the funnel.

 

2. SEO Helps You Get into the Spotlight

 

When we talk about search engine optimization, we talk about creating the best version of our website to get user’s eyes, which nowadays means to be on the first page. And that turns out to be a pain in the neck most of the time.

 

But it doesn’t need to be annoying. If you follow the natural path of things, SEO can help you achieve the desired position. Hard work and dedication can come a long way.

 

A content audit is needed at this stage, to understand the actual status and then decide what you have to optimize. For a correct content audit, you must gather all the articles into a spreadsheet, add metrics (such as CTR, organic search traffic, internal and external links, shares, comments, rank) and order them to see the pages with the lowest metrics.

 

Content Audit Chart

www.contentmarketingup.com

 

Use a tool for content optimization and voilà. You have awesome content. Get in the spotlight by promoting it and earn lots of links. Once you’ve managed to get on the first page of Google, you’ll gain visitors, who might become clients. But once you’ve got there, you must work hard to stay put. After that you could take it up a notch. That means social sharing, emailing, promotion, internal linking in other pages that have high influence.

 

3. SEO Creates a Stronger Relationship with the Audience

 

If you managed to get on the first page in the search engines, that means you’ve gained the trust of Google or Bing. Which should lead to earning the trust of your audience.

 

Words play an important role in digital marketing and content is the pivot.

 

Content marketing is the most effective SEO technique. Websites with blog content have 434% more search engine-indexed pages than other business sites that don’t publish content.

 

If your page has a good user experience, the audience will like it and you have a great chance to create a strong relationship. But that is not the only indicator. Quality content with valuable information that answers the audience’s questions using their own words is another indicator.    

 

Integrate a comment section in your blog to hear your audience. Make sure you filter the spammy comments before publishing them. User-generated content is a good sign of quality information. You can speak directly to your audience, hear their thoughts and opinions, allowing you to create a relationship quickly.

 

4. SEO Pulls out Traffic

 

Yes, that’s true. SEO can pull out qualified traffic. It turns out search engines drive 300% more traffic to sites than social media.

 

If done right, SEO can pull your website on the first page and from that moment you’ll have a lot to gain from. That means traffic, too. If your website is in the sight of the viewer, then most probably they will enter your website.

 

So, the better you optimize your website on-site (with a proper headline, URL, meta description, cover photo and pictures with alt-description), the higher the chances to attract the user on your website. You need to differentiate yourself from the others and be the unicorn in a crowd of donkeys, as Larry Kim often says.

 

Create unicorn content. This is your best, most magical content, performing among the top 3 percent of all your content.
Larry Kim Larry Kim
CEO MobileMonkey & Founder WordStream
 

5. SEO Is Cost Effective Comparing to PPC

 

It is not justified that PPC is highly costly comparing to SEO, which is more effective. SEO has a longterm value, while PPC has a shorter lifetime value. As long as you pay, you’ll appear in Google; if you stop paying, then your ad will disappear.

 

PPC is better to use when you launch a product or your business because at that stage it is harder to get awareness using SEO. PPC works best for promoting products and commercial content because you invest money to gain clients and sales.

 

You invest in SEO for awareness, for web traffic and other metrics that lead to sales. But the thing is that you don’t need to invest so much money on SEO like you need on PPC.

 

SEO offers the better value in search marketing. That’s its true strenght.

 

Studies say that SEO has approximately 20X more traffic opportunity than PPC on both mobile and desktop. And Search Engine Marketing Professionals Organization said that 87% of search engine dollars are spent on PPC vs. 11% spent on SEO efforts.

 

6. SEO Is Live 24/7

 

SEO can run free because it is live 24/7. Even when you’re sleeping, or you are offline, it can pull out your site and keep it in the sight of the visitors, because SEO never sleeps.   

 

A unique perk of optimizing your website is the timeless characteristic. To understand how it works imagine you are looking for a specific product and searching the internet. Each webpage from SERP is like a store you walk in and look around to see if they got what you’re searching for. Those on the first page are open, near to you and well-known businesses (let’s say). If your page is there, then you might get a chance to get a new lead.

 

But unlike a store, which has open and closing hours, your website has SEO, which means it is open all the time and can receive the potential customers anytime.  

 

Search engine optimization it is practically like an open sign.

 

7. SEO Increases Sales and Leads

 

Since we were talking about new leads and potential clients, SEO puts your website on the map and impacts the buying cycle.  

 

The thing that differentiates it from other forms of marketing and adds value to it is the fact that sales will increase without having to increase proportionally your promotional costs.

 

You can start SEO and content with no monetary investment. But if you want to scale your business to get high revenue, then you’ll have to make some investments. In case you want to start with no monetary investment, then you’ll have to put more effort into creating high-linkable content, optimize for money keywords and keywords with a high volume and sustain your content with emailing, social media, syndication and other ways to promote it.

 

8. SEO Improves Your ROI

 

SEO can push your marketing goals to better ROI comparing to other forms of marketing. Your website can be a prospect magnet, based on your high-quality keyword and be where your customers are. If you are in the sight of the visitor, you’ll be able to direct them to your website and offer solutions to their questions/problems. 

 

Your website should be the apple to the user’s pie. ❤

 

Jayson DeMers, founder of AudienceBloom, had quite a unique approach to the way SEO works as an investment for each business:

 

SEO works very much like the stock market. You choose your stocks (keywords) based on the knowledge you have at hand, and then you wait. You’ll likely experience periods of growth and decline (like ranking fluctuations), but one thing is certain: the stock market and SEO are both long-term endeavors. There’s no quick path to riches in either case.
jason-demers-link-building-offsite-seo Jayson DeMers
Founder of AudienceBloom

 

SEO might have one of the biggest ROI compared to other marketing forms.

 

9. SEO Has the Greatest Impact on Lead Generation

 

The key to generating more leads for your business is optimizing your site for search engines. According to a study by NewsCreed, 57% of B2B marketers said that SEO has the greatest impact on lead generation.

 

To generate revenue and expand the local area of your business you must take the online stage and dominate your competitors. The way to do that is to have a well-optimized website.

 

SEO has the ability to enable the flow of leads, but you have to help it and optimize the inner content through:

  • fitted keywords with high search volumes;
  • high loading speed time websites;
  • quality content;
  • get ahead of your competitors by spying on their content and their SEO strategies.

 

Search engine optimization plays an important role in cultivating organic traffic and generating leads. The message you transmit through your content is very important. Did they land on commercial or information content? There are money keywords and information keywords. Depending on what type of content they landed on your website, it will give you a more accurate insight on the level the sales funnel they came from: leads, prospects and in the end clients.

 

According to a report by Chitika Insights, it seems that number 1 position in Google gets 32.5 % of search traffic. And the first 5 positions account for 75.7% of the search traffic. That’s a strong indicator of the power of SEO. If your website is in the first 5 positions, then you’ll have a high chance of attracting leads.

 

10. SEO Traffic Is More Convertible

 

One other reason why SEO is crucial for any business online is the power of converting. Indeed, SEO traffic converts better. Search traffic converts 10x higher than the social media on desktops according to a study by SimilarWeb. Moreover, it seems like search is by far the largest traffic driver.

 

Traffic sources report by SimilarWeb

 

Studies talk by themselves. eMarketer discovered that 76% of US agencies worldwide said SEO provided excellent or good return on investment (ROI). Which better reason to stick to SEO, than these results?

 

If you’ve managed to find the working SEO strategy for you, then you can’t go wrong and you’ll benefit from juicy results. By positioning your website on the search engines, your business will gain more conversions.

 

11. SEO Increases Brand Awareness

 

Besides all the SEO benefits in the internet marketing field that we’ve talked about, SEO has the power to make your brand discovered and remembered, but you have to help it, as usual.  

 

The sale funnel is a long process, so the visitor has a long way before converting. They might not be prepared to buy from you, but the fact that they entered your website is a good opportunity. They will be aware of what you’re offering before making an action.

 

SEO helps your website to get awareness.

 

Let’s say you’re searching for something online, for “how to dye your hair at home” and you want to know more about that. It is the first time dyeing your hair, you don’t know anything about it.

 

 

Just like in the example shown above, you find a website where you see informational content along with commercial one (example of product with the price and the name of the store). In case you have a website like this, you might get benefits if people are buying for those type of websites.

 

Being one of the top results will bring awareness to your website. People will know more about you and might search your website for other information and take other actions around there.

 

12. SEO Increases Marketing Attribution

 

When your brand awareness increases, the marketing attribution will increase as well. Attribution represents the number of actions (“touchpoints”) a visitor is taking on your website. Basically, it tracks down the events that engaged the user before converting them.

 

The more times users see your brand, the better chance to increase the marketing attribution. Better optimized pages, with quality content and trustworthy websites will get you more “touchpoints” from the users.

 

Unfortunately, just a small amount of marketers use attribution in their marketing strategy. A study by Delhi School of Internet Marketing says that 34.1% of businesses don’t use any attribution model to measure marketing performance. And that’s sad.

 

Businesses that don’t use attribution might lose 50% of potential sales.

 

Those who used attribution and lead nurturing generated 50% more sales at 33% lower cost.

 

13. SEO Is One of the Best PR Strategy

 

You heard that right, SEO is one of the best PR strategy. You might think they came from two different worlds, but in the online world, SEO takes the form of public relations.

 

We all know that PR is the practice of spreading information about something (brand, product) or someone in the public eye. SEO can do exactly the same thing. It will bring your brand to the public attention. But for that you need links and quality content, to rank in the top positions.

 

Links are a form of recognition for your website.

 

It means that those who linked to your website found useful and valuable information and want to share it to others. This type of action can be categorized as word-of-mouth and PR movement. The more links, the more visibility for your website.

 

14. SEO Improves CTR

 

Optimized pages, with a high CTR, influence rankings and achieve top positions. That will improve the results, and get high CTR again. It is an on-going process. SEO and CTR are influencing one another.

 

A website that is very-well optimized will get featured in SERP and will receive clicks, impressions. A top position in Google can have a high CTR.

 

 I can most certainly say with confidence that CTR is impacting rank.
Larry Kim Larry Kim
CEO MobileMonkey & Founder WordStream

 

Usually, pages with a higher CTR tend to have higher conversion rates. Increasing your CTR by 2x will increase your conversion rate by 50%.

 

There are some ways to step up the game and increase your SEO and, therefore, your CTR:

  • First, start by looking at those pages that have a low click-through-rate using Google Search Console (or Google Analytics):

See CTR in Search Console

 

  • Then look at the pages or queries that have a low CTR but high position. Start by optimizing those pages and their snippets.
  • Another thing you could do is look at the duplicate content on your website and remake the meta descriptions and title tags that are duplicated.

Duplicate contetnt Search Console

 

 

15. SEO Can Eliminate Cold-Calling

 

Invest in SEO, rather than cold-calling. If you’re tired of sending emails, calling on the phone or performing other forms of outreach, then SEO is the only “call” you have to make. After all the reasons we’ve talked on why SEO is important, you can understand that it takes a few steps forward for your business and could eliminate cold calling.

 

It works pretty simply. Imagine you’d like to contact somebody regarding a proposition or collaboration idea. If you have a well-known brand due to your SEO efforts (that means that it appears in the search results pages for important and convertible keywords) and say you are John from X (the brand you’re representing), then you’ll have a higher chance to get noticed. The discussion can get to a positive result faster and the response rate can be higher.

 

16. SEO Builds Trust and Credibility

 

Google has lots of ranking factors and search quality raters that analyze and evaluate ranking websites and pages. Which only proves that Google takes a high interest in showing relevant, trustworthy and newsworthy content to the visitor. SEO on the same note is providing trust and credibility to the website. That type of strong indicators from a website will send quality signals to Google. Not to mention that SEO helps you grow your online reputation. 

 

Sites that send a strong trustworthy signal have one or more of the following elements:

  • HTTPS protocol;
  • Security certification;
  • Business blog with comments area;
  • Social networking components;
  • Current contact information;
  • High-quality pictures, clean web design and great UX;
  • Recent activity on site (easy to see through the blog);
  • Social media activity (social signals have a strong impact on SEO).
 

17. SEO Is a Long-Term Strategy

 

It takes approximately 6 months to see optimal website rankings for a new site, and it can go up to 12 months. If you follow a natural path to grow a business online and follow Google’s quality guidelines to increase your website rankings, you have a high advantage. Because once you get a place in the top positions of Google you rarely change it. The only times you can see a decrease in rankings is due to Google algorithm updates or high competition. Studies have shown that search engine results had gotten more useful and relevant over time as 52% of consumers acknowledge.

 

The thing that I’ve seen working best for ranking in Google is content. Not any type of content, but quality content. The key is to create informational content and connect it with the commercial type (through internal linking) to create linkable content and grow up your website.

 

A blog can go a long way. 72% of marketers say relevant content creation was the most effective SEO tactic according to Ascend2.

 

18. More Effective Than Other Traditional Strategies

 

SEO has proved a lot of times to be more effective than any other traditional strategy (passing flyers, print advertising, television and radio or direct marketing) because the user is searching for something and receives the results. It is not exposed to a information that he doesn’t need at that moment (like it happens in the traditional marketing process).

 

The popularity of traditional marketing dropped over the years. Digital marketing started to rise and SEO has received the crown to rule over the empire.

 

Traditional marketing vs. SEO

 

We can see how broadcasting had a tremendous drop in searches in 2009. Direct marketing had a slow death. And SEO had a natural growth in the last years. We can’t say for certainty that was the real evolution of how traditional marketing involved and SEO evolved, but we can point out people’s interest in them.

 

SEO starts by creating amazing content. The fact is that content will persuade the user into making an action. 93% of B2B companies say content marketing generates more leads than traditional marketing strategies, which can only prove the graphic from Google Trends.  

 

19. SEO Can Help You Attract Great Individuals

 

If you have a strong website and people heard about you, you have a higher chance to attract talent. In case you have open positions in your company and you are searching for some individuals that could fit your team, SEO can be a great “tool”.

 

On the same topic, TripAdvisor did something really cool in one of their recruitment processes. They were searching for someone in IT and did that through the robots.txt:

 

tripadvisor-robotstxt

 

So, either you are using your website to send a message to the future colleagues or offering information on sight, SEO can help you. If you optimize the page for the job you’re offering, you might save some money spent on dedicated platforms or other sorts of promotion.

 

20. SEO Isn’t the Final Step, but the Center of Things

 

I hear a lot of people that designed their website and left SEO at the end like it’s some magic powder you can spray on top. No! Wrong and wrong. When a new website is created, SEO is the first thing you should be considering, along with UX.

 

Take SEO into consideration when you develop your website’s architecture or decide the platform – CMS, the URL syntax, canonical URLs, other HTML codes important for having a reachable and clean website for the bots and users.

 

You wouldn’t like to be in the situation where you invested a lot of money in your website’s design and after that, you find out that Google doesn’t see your website as it should, the user doesn’t find the website in the search results or has a weird snippet. And after all that investment, you have to spend more money to resolve the issues and make it visible.

 

21. SEO Can Boost Your Efficiency

 

All the benefits of SEO that we’ve talked about until now will help your business grow. And SEO is the one that multiplies your efforts. It delivers what promised.

 

Optimizing your content will get you the benefit of getting a higher space into search, that means more keywords ranking on upper positions offering a higher visibility in SERP.  We tried pushing the content optimization a step higher, by selecting a list of pages and making a massive content optimization a few months back.

 

Search visibility increase

Source: https://explorer.cognitiveseo.com/?u=cognitiveseo.com&m=*U*#section/4

 

As you can see the evolution of the search visibility started to have a beautiful increase since the moment we’ve optimized the pages.

 

SEO is a digital business card.

 

If you manage to improve the rankings on your website, you can beat up competition and you can beat up skepticism, which are two of the biggest fishes to catch.

 

Conclusion

 

The perks of search engine optimization are several. Every SEO expert you ask will tell you how beneficial is SEO for a website. SEO is laser-targeted, which means it can achieve great results and push your marketing goals upper. It is one of the smartest marketing investment you can make at the moment we speak because in online SEO is the form of marketing that has the longest lifespan vs. money spent.

 

SEO will help you spread your wings through all the web. You need to include it in your marketing mix because it is a lifevest for your business. You can’t survive without SEO, not now or never.  It has lots of advantages that can bring awareness to your business and bring a higher impact on your marketing goals. Driving traffic to your website can be easier once you’ve gained a high position of Google due to a well-done SEO campaign.  

 

Either you’re building an SEO campaign for the first time or you’re doing this for a long time, you must always remember that SEO is a long-term strategy, and also a continuous process of improvement. Use this guide to SEO to get the results you desire. 

The post Why SEO Is Important to Any Business Nowadays. Top 21 SEO Benefits appeared first on SEO Blog | cognitiveSEO Blog on SEO Tactics & Strategies.


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Saturday, July 21, 2018

Top Marketing Books: Experts Recommend the Best!

Top Marketing Books

Want to get a marketing education? Read the top marketing books recommended by experts. They  share their favorites & why every marketer should read them.

The post Top Marketing Books: Experts Recommend the Best! appeared first on Heidi Cohen.


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Tuesday, July 17, 2018

3 Killer Amazon Advantages: How To Improve Your Marketing Now

Killer Amazon Advantages

Take advantage of Killer Amazon Advantages to improve your marketing. Includes actionable marketing tips and charts.

The post 3 Killer Amazon Advantages: How To Improve Your Marketing Now appeared first on Heidi Cohen.


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Does Syndicated Content Work? Will It Help or Will It Hurt Your SEO?

Content syndication can be a great way to drive traffic to your site, get exposure and maybe even improve you rankings. But, on the other side, it can also turn out to be devastating, if played wrong.

 

The main concern when it comes to syndication is duplicate content. Will Google penalize you if you take other people’s content and place it on your own website? Will it hurt your SEO? Then, there’s also a concern regarding rankings. If you have a small website, will you be able to rank above the authoritative sources you’ve posted your content on?

 

Does_Syndicated_Content_Help_or_Hurt_SEO

 

  1. What Is Content Syndication?
    1. Syndication vs. Guest Posting
  2. Does Content Syndication Affect SEO & Traffic?
    1. Duplicate Content, Backlinks & Penalties
    2. When You Syndicate Other Websites’ Content
    3. When Other Websites Syndicate Your Content
    4. Press Releases
  3. Should Syndicated Content Be Indexed or Not? Will It Outrank the Original Content?
  4. Dealing With Stolen Content
  5. An Alternative to Content Syndication

 

Well, there are many variables and, depending on each case, you should take proper action. In this article, we’ll try to cover as much as possible and help you decide whether content syndication will work for you or if it’s better to stay away from it.

 

What Is Content Syndication?

 

Content syndication is the process of giving other publishers the right to republish your content. It can often happen in all types of media and it isn’t restricted only to web. Content syndication was popular in TV, radio and print as well.

 

So, in a nutshell, content syndication is when you publish your content on other websites. Why would you do that? Well, there could be a number of reasons, but the biggest one is gaining exposure and, potentially, traffic.

 

You can also publish other pieces of content on your website, in order to attract visitors to your website and make revenue through ads. It goes both ways.

 

Syndication vs. Guest Posting

 

If you thought this kind of sounds like guest posting, then you’re right. There are some similarities. However, there are some differences that set them apart pretty far from one another.

 

Both guest posts and syndicated content have kind of the same purpose: to bring traffic and backlinks to your website. This way, they’re similar. But, for once, guest posts are unique content (or at least they should be) while syndicated content is duplicate content. You: Wait what? Duplicate content? Isn’t that like bad? It depends. But we’ll talk about this soon enough, so keep reading.

 

Content syndication is also a lot more scalable guest posting. After all, there are only so many guest posts you can write in a month. With syndication, you also get to post the content on your website and own it. With guest posting, you don’t get that luxury. So, if a guest post is really successful, other websites will benefit from the traffic.

 

Content syndication is easier to scale than guest posting and you also have the advantage of owning the content.

 

However, it might be a lot easier to land a guest post somewhere than to syndicate content, because everybody loves unique content.

 

Does Content Syndication Affect SEO & Traffic?

 

When it comes to publishing your content somewhere else or publishing other content on your website, there are a lot of concerns that people have. How will this impact their rankings, traffic and image? Will it help you rank higher and get more traffic, or will it affect your rankings negatively?

 

Duplicate Content, Backlinks & Penalties

 

The biggest concerns people have when syndicating content are duplicate content and backlink penalties. Let’s go through both of them to find out more.

 

Duplicate Content Penalty:

 

It’s true, syndicated content is considered duplicate content. However, the duplicate content penalty is just a myth. Google doesn’t penalize websites for duplicate content. At least, not the way you think.

 

 

So, there you have it. Google doesn’t have a duplicate content penalty. It does however, penalize websites that scrape content or spam the web using duplicate content. If they provide no value at all, then Google might take manual action. But that’s not really about duplicate content as much as it is about spam.

 

 

However, Google likes it when you provide unique content and specify your duplicates. If there are 5 URLs with the same content, which one should Google rank? If you don’t help the bot, it will decide on its own at some point and send the other pages into the omitted results. You’re better off with unique content.

 

Google simply knows that users like diversity. They don’t like to see the same content ranking over and over again. So if you want to call Google’s omitted results a penalty, fine. However, a general website penalty for duplicate content is just a myth.

 

Link Penalties: Dofollow or Nofollow?

 

What Google always advises is to avoid any sort of scalable link schemes. Content syndication kind of fits that criteria, so you should definitely be careful where you syndicate your content. Make sure the websites you post on and get links from are decent.

 

If you set partnerships with multiple publishers, then it’s probably a good idea to mark your backlinks what a nofollow tag. That way you’ll be sure that nothing bad can happen, especially if you’re paying for the post. And, just in case you’re wondering, nofollow links are useful for SEO.

 

Using nofollow links back to your site will ensure that you won’t get penalized. Nonetheless, if the offer isn’t incentivized, dofollow links are good.

 

However, if some webmaster reaches out to you to ask your for permission to republish your content because they think your content is awesome, feel free to get a dofollow link from them. As John Mueller mentioned above, as long as you’re not spammy, you shouldn’t worry.

 

When You Syndicate Other Websites’ Content

 

If you’re planning on publishing other people’s content on your website, then there are some things you need to consider.

 

First of all, you probably won’t be ranking that content in Google. You therefore need another source of traffic for the content, otherwise it won’t be of much help. If you have social media following or generating traffic some other way, then you shouldn’t have an issue. Second, the owners of the content might have different requirements, such as highlighting their websites at the top of the post, requesting a backlink or even a canonical tag.

 

Some websites follow this business model. They just republish great content from around the web and drive traffic to their site with it. However, if you think that’s easy-peasy to do, also consider that it takes years and a lot of hard work to build an audience and generate traffic to the website without spending more than earning.

 

Pros:

 

  • You don’t have to write content
  • You get to publish great content from multiple sources

 

Cons:

 

  • Owners might ask for canonicals, so you won’t drive traffic from Google
  • Can get into copyright issues if you don’t ask for permission
  • Google might think you’re spamming or using an autoblog plugin if you overdo it

 

How to do it the right way:

 

If you’re planning to syndicate content on your site… Wait, let me rephrase that. If you want to syndicate content on your site, you need a plan. You’ll need to know your sources, make sure that they agree with you republishing their content and also make sure that you know where you’ll generate your traffic from. Scaling this with autoblogs is a bad idea, as it can get you into some legal issues as well as penalize your domain for web spam.

 

When Other Websites Syndicate Your Content

 

Getting your content on other websites is great. You can drive traffic back to your website and establish authority. However, it’s not as easily done as said. In order to get featured on worthy websites, you need worthy content. You should be posting quality content anyway, so this shouldn’t be an issue. When you give away your content, if someone (hypothetically) shares it somewhere you haven’t thought of and gains 10,000 visitors, you won’t get any of that traffic. They will build e-mail lists and make ad revenue on your content.

 

Make sure that your content is indexed as soon as you post it. You can do this via the Google Search Console, in the Crawl > Fetch & Render section. Once Google fetches and renders the content, you can request indexing for that link. Do this for every post before you start distributing it. If it gets indexed first on another website, you might get into trouble and not be able to outrank it.

 

You might also notice that people won’t just simply share your content when you pitch them. They will want you to share theirs as well. I post your content, you post mine, right? Well, if you successfully pitch this deal to 10 blogs, they only have to post once, but you’ll have to post 10 different articles on your site. You’ll end up with one popular and original piece of content on your site, and 10 copied, duplicate posts.

 

Also, Google values one way links more than link exchanges. If you scale link exchanges it might even consider it some sort of link scheme.

 

Pros:

 

  • Nice way of promoting content and possibly even drive some traffic
  • Great way of building authority
  • Can get you quality backlinks

 

Cons:

 

  • People might want to exchange favors or money for it
  • You don’t make revenue from ads and can’t build e-mail lists
  • There’s a risk you’ll get outranked

 

How to do it the right way:

 

Once you have your great piece of content, first make sure it’s indexed before you pitch. You want to be the first, so that Google doesn’t think you’re the one copying content. Then you need to pitch it to quality websites in your niche. Make sure you’re able to get a rel=”canonical” back to your original post. If not, at least get a backlink, be it follow or nofollow.

 

A good place to start is Medium. You can easily republish your content there, because Medium offers you the option to add a canonical URL. This way, if the medium post gets to the top of Google using its authority, your website will show instead.

 

Press Releases

 

Press releases are also a form of syndicated content, but they act a little bit differently. First of all, they’re often times paid, at least on the web.

 

Another difference is the fact that you don’t post it on your site. This means that you won’t be facing the duplicate content issue. However, it’s not excluded for news publishers to request original content on their website, meaning that the press release will be more like a guest post rather than syndicated content. Some publishers will write their own content, which is great, but others will ask you to do it.

 

Are press releases duplicate content or not?

 

Since you’re scaling this, you should definitely use nofollow links, as Google recommends. The posts are about you, anyway, so you’ll probably get more traffic than with regular syndicated content, as you can pitch your product/service or website right at the beginning of the post.

 

However, a canonical tag doesn’t make sense here, since the content isn’t duplicate. The link will help, but you could still get outranked if your press release gets posted on a high authority website. To avoid this, simply optimize the press release for a slightly different keyword than the main ones you want to target with your website.

 

Should Syndicated Content Be Indexed or Not? Will It Outrank the Original Content?

 

Some time ago, I asked John Mueller for advice, as someone took my content and posted it on their website before I even had a change to get it indexed.

 

 

John’s answer was kind of disappointing back then. Unless the webmasters would agree to link to me or add a canonical link, there was pretty much nothing to do except a copyright strike.

 

However, recently, I’ve also found this piece of information:

 

 

So… Apparently Google does care about which content was indexed first. Theoretically, as long as your site has been indexed, it should be ranking first. So, right after you post, just use the search console to index it quickly and you’ll be fine.

 

Well… not so fast. This might work if you’re already a somewhat established website, but if you’re site is 5 days old and you get to republish your article on CNN, don’t expect to rank above it.

 

We’ve had some scraper site outrank cognitiveSEO in Google Image Search with our own featured image. How did we find out? Because Google picked it for an answer box. We took a look at the URL and it wasn’t ours. I can’t recall if it was indexed before us, but luckily, Google figured it out and things got fixed pretty quickly. However, this proves that you can sometimes get outranked when syndicating content.

 

Here’s another example of someone “syndicating” our content. However, Google was smart enough to rank us at the top and show the other site only in the omitted results. The scrapers removed all the backlinks from the post and didn’t even mention the source. The only links we’re getting from it (which are probably harmful anyway) are the ones from the image sources.

 

scraped content only ranks in omitted results

 

As long as you’re genuinely building relationships and actively doing things to benefit the users, there shouldn’t be an issue with syndicated content.

 

Even though there are risks involved, syndicated content should be indexed, otherwise Google would never know that the original source is so popular.

 

Dealing With Stolen Content

 

Stolen content is syndicated content that doesn’t have your permission. Often times, your content is scraped by bots and automatically published on various websites, as mentioned above. 

 

How to deal with stolen content

 

However, webmasters might also republish your content without permission. This shouldn’t bother you too much if you’re ranking high already. However, if you’re not, it can potentially harm you. I’ll share a personal story with you:

 

Once upon a time, when I first started my SEO blog in Romanian, I wrote a very successful blog post that drove a lot of traffic to my site on the first day. Because I got so excited, I forgot to submit it for indexing. A big publisher liked it so much that it reposted it.

 

At first, I was kind of proud and happy, even though they didn’t ask me if I agreed, but then I realized my mistake. In a matter of days, their content was ranking on page 1 of Google for the keyword I targeted and my article was nowhere to be found. That Tweet, above, to John Mueller was actually about this situation. Luckily I managed to get a rel=”canonical” from them and soon Google ranked my content instead of theirs.

 

However, regarding the cognitiveSEO issue where some scraper site was ranking images above us, we actually couldn’t get in touch with them, so we instead decided to contact their hosting provider and report the copyright infringement. You can find out their hosting provider with tools like Who Is Hosting This.

 

So, you have to first try and reach out to see if you can get a backlink or canonical URL. If not, you can also ask them to remove your content, due to copyright. Reporting this to their hosting provider can get them suspended, so they will probably comply. However, if everything else fails, you can also file a DMCA Report using this tool from Google. Select See more products, then Web Search.

 

An Alternative to Content Syndication

 

I haven’t mentioned this yet, but the most important part in content syndication is building relationships with other webmasters. And you know what? You don’t have to post their content on your site. You can simply share it on your social media account. They will eventually share yours as well.

 

Building relationships with others can be extremely rewarding. And what better way to build relationships than to recommend their work? However, make sure you genuinely enjoy their products, services and content. People will eventually figure out if you try to kiss everyone’s… you get the point. They won’t like it. And don’t just share their content. Engage. Build a connection.

 

Social media is a great way to build connections and share relevant content without having to deal with any of the complications of content syndication.

 

If you don’t feel comfortable sharing your competitor’s content, you can always take a step down in your niche. For example if you’re in the SEO field, you might share content within the digital marketing field. If you’re into bikes, you can share sports (roller skates, scooters) or outdoor activities.

 

Conclusion

 

In the end, it’s a personal decision, if not a matter of business models and website purposes if you want to start syndicating content. Content syndication can be a great way to promote your content and make a name for yourself. However, you must also embrace the fact that content syndication revolves around an audience rather than search generated traffic and if you overdo it, you might get in trouble.

 

How about you? Have you ever used content syndication as a way to promote your blog? If yes, how did it go? Did you gain traffic? Were you ever outranked? Let us know in the comments section, we really want to find out!

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